SkyCiv文档

您的SkyCiv软件指南 - 教程, 使用指南和技术文章

技术说明

  1. 技术说明
  2. 结构3D
  3. 响应谱分析: 一个建筑例子

响应谱分析: 一个建筑例子

关于如何对低层钢结构建筑进行响应谱分析的指南

一般描述和示例定义

在地震活动区, 建筑规范,如 ASCE-07 根据惯性力确定地震活动性. 获得这些力有两种主要方法, 静态和动态. 本文仅关注动态力. 如果您需要学习如何使用静态程序进行计算, 我们建议您阅读这些文章: SkyCiv 地震载荷发生器 SkyCiv 完整的 ASCE 示例 7-16 使用等效侧向力程序计算地震载荷.

响应谱分析 (RSA) 是线性的 (与应力直接相关的应变) 使用结构的自然振动特性以获得运动地震事件中产生的最大力的动态过程. 由于这种运动从地面支撑转移到整个结构, 惯性力将被发展, 那是, 正如牛顿第二定律所说, 力 = 质量 * 加速度. 源质量取自材料建筑,加速度水平必须由规范定义. 随意查看以前有关 RSA 的 SkyCiv 文章: SkyCiv S3D 响应谱分析简介.

下图显示了一个由低层钢结构建筑组成的结构模型. 横向阻力由沿平面主要方向的两个不同结构系统提供: 同心支撑框架用于纵向和抗弯框架用于横向.

图一. 渲染的三维模型.

在 SkyCiv S3D 中创建模型

您可以通过以下步骤创建模型并能够运行 RSA. (有关建模的更详细教程, 转到我们的 SkyCiv 文件: SkyCiv S3D 入门)

  • 平面和高度尺寸. 该建筑在纵向和横向上有三个和两个跨度, 分别. 在海拔, 它有三个故事级别.

图2. 平面尺寸.

图3. 故事级别定义.

  • 横向抗力系统. 遵循钢结构配置的良好做法, 需要使用相应的设计代码建议. 在这篇文章中, 我们沿纵向定义支撑框架 (“X”) 其中所有结构元件都必须作为销钉连接. 大括号是中空的结构形状 (高速钢) 常见的方形类型. 对于空头方向 (横) 我们已经建立了抗弯框架,考虑到通过节点在元素之间传递弯矩的能力. 对于后面这些帧, 梁柱为W型钢. 在这种结构配置中,在柱子底部分配足够的支撑是非常重要的, 正确地赶上想要的行为.

图4. 支撑和抗弯矩框架定义.

图 5. 支持发布 “与” 旋转自由度.

支撑框架需要适应旋转以仅产生轴向力 (拉伸或压缩). 力矩框架至少在它们的平面上需要固定支撑. 实现这两个要求的方法是为每个方向的位移和旋转分配一个固定的自由度 (“X”, “和”, “与”) 唯一的例外是释放沿 “与” 轴. 要应用的限制代码是 “FFFFFR”; 前三个字符用于线性位移,后三个字符用于旋转.

图 6. 一组支撑和约束代码分配.

 

使用刚性隔膜的地板

建议定义刚性隔膜以将自由度数量减少到每级三个, 两个用于平移位移,一个用于平面中的旋转.

图 7. 故事中的刚性隔膜.

如何 刚性隔膜约束工程 它是否创建了一个参考主节点, 俗称 “质量中心 (厘米)” 并使用刚性链接链接到节点. 一个简单的定义是系统中的点或节点,在该点或节点处可以将整个质量视为集中. 对于地震荷载, 侧向力施加到 CM.

图8. 刚性隔膜中的主节点和从节点.

完整的几何模型如下图所示.

图 9. 3完成模型的 D 视图.

向模型添加静态载荷

施工规范定义了载荷以及考虑它们组合的方式. 在这篇文章中, 只定义重力和侧向力.

    • 重力载荷: 自重, 叠加的恒载和活载.
    • 横向载荷: 来自每个平面方向的响应谱分析的线性动态地震力.

定义自重载荷, 查看左侧功能区并在负载部分中选择选项 “自重”, 然后打开点击按钮 “上”. 下一个, 赋值 -1 在垂直方向 (在这种情况下是 Y 轴重力) 最后去应用按钮来创建这个负载案例.

图 10. 自重荷载定义.

需要与我们之前对自重负载执行的类似程序来分配和创建用户重力负载:

  • 选择 “区域负荷” 从负载部分.

  • 从特定楼板中选择四个角节点以定义区域荷载周长, 然后分配压力大小, 2.5 kPa 叠加和 2.o kPa 活荷载. 随意命名,因为您认为对每个负载情况都很方便.

图号. 11. 角板节点选择以创建区域载荷.

图号. 12. 面积荷载: 叠加死 (2.5千帕) 和活载 (2.0千帕).

  • 转到位于右侧功能区的可见性设置并选择 “等效面积载荷” 观察每个次梁中的面积载荷与其支流宽度成比例的分布. SkyCiv S3D 使用此线力而不是区域载荷本身.

图号. 13. 施加到次梁的等效线荷载: 叠加恒载.

图 14. 施加到次梁的等效线荷载: 活荷载.

响应谱分析, RSA – 施加负荷

使用该方法动态计算横向地震力 (RSA) 您可以按照以下步骤操作:

  • 淋巴结肿块. 您可以通过将质量直接放在结构节点中或通过转换施加的载荷来定义质量.

大多数建筑规范仅将自重和叠加恒载作为质量源来计算地震惯性力. 在一些不常见的情况下, 一小部分活荷载也被考虑在内.

图号. 15. 质量来源,包括自重, 叠加死亡和 25% 活荷载.

  • 光谱负荷. 在这个部分, 您将定义构建频谱图所需的所有数据.

有两种方式可以为 RSA 创建绘图. SkyCiv S3D 为您提供使用用户输入或包含 ASCE 的默认模板-07, NBCC 2020 和欧洲规范 8 码.

图 16. SkyCiv S3D 中的光谱负载选项.

图 17. 频谱载荷的默认构造代码.

 

图号. 18. 与模态响应相关的设置

由于 RSA 是一种基于模态响应的动态分析方法, there has to be a previously defined procedure to combine these different modal responses. 最合适的方法如下所示,完全推荐使用 CQC 方法: “完整的二次组合”. For more information about modal combination methods, 查看这篇文章.

图号. 19. 组合模态结果的规则

  • 减少设计范围. 由于高昂的建筑成本,几乎不可能设计任何建筑物来抵抗弹性地震力,这意味着. 为此原因, 大多数建筑规范允许使用比前面提到的更低的地震力. 要做到这一点, 每个建筑系统都具有延展性和强度等特性,可以消散地震能量并适应水平位移. 因此, 您可以通过缩减设计范围减少横向设计力.

图 20. 简化设计谱图.

我们一直在使用的示例有两种不同的横向阻力系统: 支撑和力矩框架. 两个系统都以不同的模式无弹性地响应,因此, 延展性和强度因子将修改要在每个主要方向上使用的简化设计谱.

图 21. 减少设计频谱分析设置 “X” 方向.

22号图.

减少设计频谱分析设置 “X” 方向.

审查固有振动频率

一旦定义了所有动态属性,您就可以运行响应谱分析. 去 “解决” 然后选择 “反应谱” 获得最终结果. 我们可以查看分析中考虑的所有模式的自然振动周期或频率.

图 23. 第一模态自振结果. 时期, T1 = 1.412 秒

24号图. 第二种自然振动模式. 时期, T2 = 1.021 秒

25号图. 自然振动的第三模式. 时期, T3 = 1.021 秒.

最后, 您可以使用 RSA 结果访问表. 下一张图片显示了分析中所有振动模式的频率和参与质量.

26号桌. 动态频率结果 – 10 振动模式.

27号桌. 动态频率结果 – 大众参与.

 

SkyCiv 结构 3D 新手? 今日免费注册!

本文对您有帮助吗??
是的 没有

我们能帮你什么吗?

回到顶部

SkyCiv Documentation

Your guide to SkyCiv software - tutorials, how-to guides and technical articles

TechNotes

  1. Home
  2. TechNotes
  3. Structural 3D
  4. Response Spectrum Analysis: A Building Example

Response Spectrum Analysis: A Building Example

A guide on how to run a response spectrum analysis on a low-rise steel building

General description and example definition

In zones of seismic activity, construction codes such as ASCE-07 establish seismicity in terms of inertial forces. There are two main approaches to obtaining these forces, static and dynamic. This article is focused only on dynamic forces. If you need to learn how to calculate using the static procedure, we recommend you to read these articles: SkyCiv Seismic Loads Generator and SkyCiv Fully Worked Example of ASCE 7-16 Seismic Load Calculation using Equivalent Lateral Force Procedure.

A Response Spectrum Analysis (RSA) is a linear (strains directly related to stresses) dynamic procedure that uses a structure’s natural vibrations properties in order to obtain the maximum force generated in a motion seismic event. Due to this motion being transferred from ground supports to the full structure, inertial forces will be developed, that is, as Newton’s second law says, Force = mass * acceleration.  The source mass is taken from the material building and the level of acceleration has to be defined by the Code. Feel free to check a previous SkyCiv article about RSA: Introduction to Response Spectrum Analysis with SkyCiv S3D.

The following image shows a structural model rendered which consists of a low-rise steel building. The lateral resistance is provided by two different structural systems along the main directions in the plan:  concentrically braces frame for longitudinal and moment resistant frames for transverse.

Figure No.1. Rendered Tridimensional Model.

Model creation in SkyCiv S3D

You can go through the following steps to create a model and be able to run an RSA. (For more detailed tutorials regarding modeling, go to our SkyCiv documents: SkyCiv S3D Getting Started)

  • Plan and height dimensions. The building has three and two spans in longitudinal and transverse directions, respectively. In elevation, it has three story levels.

Figure No.2. Plan dimensions.

Figure No.3. Story level definition.

  • Lateral force resisting systems. To follow good practices in steel structure configuration, it is needed to use accordingly design code recommendations. In this article, we define braced frames along the longitudinal direction (“X”) in which all structural elements have to be connected as a pinned joint. Braces are hollow structural shapes (HSS) commonly square types. For the short direction (transverse) we have established moment-resistant frames considering the capacity to transfer flexural moments between elements through their nodes. For these latter frames, beams and columns are W steel shapes. It’s very important in this structural configuration to assign adequate supports at the column’s base, to correctly catch up with the behavior wanted.

Figure No.4. Braced and resistant moment frames definition.

Figure No.5. Supports releasing “Z” rotation degree of freedom.

Braced frames need to accommodate rotation to develop only axial forces (tension or compression). Moment frames need fixed supports at least in their plane. The way to accomplish both requirements is by assigning a fixed degree of freedom for displacement and rotation in each direction (“x”, “y”, “z”) with the only exception of releasing the rotation along the “z” axis.  The restraint code to apply is “FFFFFR”; the first three characters for linear displacement and the last three for rotation.

Figure No.6. Group of supports and restraint code assignment.

 

Floors using Rigid Diaphragms

It is recommended to define rigid diaphragms to reduce the number of degrees of freedom to three per level, two for translational displacement and one for the rotation in the plan.

Figure No.7. Rigid diaphragms at stories.

How a rigid diaphragm constraint works is it creates a master node of reference, commonly named “Center of Mass (CM)” and links to the nodes using Rigid Links. One simple definition is the point or node in a system at which the whole mass may be considered as concentrated.  For seismic loads, lateral forces are applied to the CM.

Figure No.8. Master and slave nodes in a rigid diaphragm.

The complete geometric model is shown in the figure below.

Figure No.9. 3D view of the completed model.

Adding static loads to your model

Construction codes define the loads and the way a combination of them is considered. In this article, only gravitational and lateral forces will be defined.

    • Gravitational loads: self-weight, superimposed dead and live loads.
    • Lateral loads: linear dynamic seismic forces from response spectrum analysis in each plan direction.

To define self-weight load, look at the left ribbon and select in the loads section the option “Self-weight”, then turn on clicking the button “ON”. Next, assign a value of -1 in the vertical direction (in this case is Y-axis Gravity) and finally go to apply button to create this load case.

Figure No.10. Self-weight case load definition.

A similar procedure as we did before for self-weight load is required to assign and create user gravitational loads:

  • Select “Area Loads” from the Loads section.

  • Select the four corner nodes from a particular floor plate to define the area load perimeter, then assign the pressure magnitude, 2.5 kPa for superimposed and 2.o kPa for live loads. Feel free to give names as you consider convenient for each load case.

Figure No. 11. Corner plate nodes selection to create area loads.

Figure No. 12. Area loads: Superimposed dead (2.5kPa) and live loads (2.0kPa).

  • Go to the visibility settings located on the right ribbon and select “Equivalent Area Loads” to watch the distribution of area loads in every secondary beam in proportion to their tributary width. SkyCiv S3D uses this line force instead area loads itself.

Figure No. 13. Equivalent line load applied to secondary beams: Superimposed dead load.

Figure No.14. Equivalent line load applied to secondary beams: Live load.

Response spectrum analysis, RSA – applying loads

To calculate lateral seismic forces dynamically using this method (RSA) you can follow the next steps:

  • Nodal masses.  You can define masses by putting them directly in structure nodes or through the conversion of applied loads.

Most building codes have considered only as a source of mass the self-weight and superimposed dead loads to calculate seismic inertial forces. In some uncommon cases, a fraction of live loads are also accounted for.

Figure no. 15. Mass sources including self-weight, superimposed dead and 25% of live load.

  • Spectral Loads. In this section, you will define all data required to build the spectrum plot.

There are two manners to create the plot for RSA. SkyCiv S3D offers you using a user input or with a default template that includes the ASCE-07 and Eurocode 8 codes.

Figure no.16. Spectral loads option in SkyCiv S3D.

Figure no.17. Default construction codes to spectral loads.

 

Figure no. 18. Settings related to modal response

Due to the RSA being a dynamic analysis method based on the modal response, there has to be a previously defined procedure to combine these different modal responses. Most adequate methods are indicated below and is fully recommended to use the CQC method: “Complete Quadratic Combinations”.

Figure no. 19. Rules to combine modal results

  • Reduced Design Spectrum. It is almost impossible to design any building to resist elastic seismic forces due to the high construction costs this would imply. For this reason, a majority of building codes allow the use of lower seismic forces than those mentioned before.  To do that, every construction system has properties such as ductility and strength which permit dissipate seismic energy and accommodate horizontal displacement. Therefore, you can reduce the lateral design forces through the Reduced Design Spectrum.

Figure no.20. Reduced Design Spectrum Plot.

The example we’ve been working with has two different lateral resistance systems: braced and moment frames. Both systems respond inelastically in different modes so that, ductility and strength factors will modify the Reduced Design Spectrum to be used in each main direction.

Figure no.21. Reduced Design Spectrum Analysis Settings in “X” direction.

Figure no.22.

Reduced Design Spectrum Analysis Settings in “X” direction.

Reviewing natural vibration frequencies

Once all dynamic properties have been defined you may run a Response Spectrum Analysis. Go to “Solve” and then select “Response Spectrum” to obtain the final results. We can review the natural vibration periods or frequencies for all modes considered in the analysis.

Figure no.23. First mode of natural vibration result. Period, T1 = 1.412 seconds

Figure no.24. Second mode of natural vibration. Period, T2 = 1.021 seconds

Figure no.25. Third mode of natural vibration. Period, T3 = 1.021 seconds.

Finally, you can access tables with the RSA results. The next images show the frequencies and participation masses for all modes of vibration in the analysis.

Table no.26. Dynamic Frequency Results – 10 modes of vibration.

Table no.27. Dynamic Frequency Results – Mass participation.

 

New to SkyCiv Structural 3D? Sign up today for FREE!

Was this article helpful to you?
Yes No

How can we help?

Go to Top