SkyCiv文档

您的SkyCiv软件指南 - 教程, 使用指南和技术文章

  1. 讲解
  2. 梁教程
  3. 悬臂梁完整指南 | 挠度和力矩

悬臂梁完整指南 | 挠度和力矩

目录

悬臂梁定义: 什么是悬臂梁?

悬臂梁是一种水平延伸且仅在一端支撑的结构元件. 不受支撑的一端称为悬臂, 它超出了支撑点. 悬臂梁在建筑中常用于支撑阳台, 屋顶, 和其他悬垂. 它们还可以用于桥梁和其他结构,以将甲板延伸到水道或其他障碍物之上.

悬臂梁是仅从单侧支撑的构件 – 通常有固定支撑. 为了确保结构是静态的, 支撑必须固定,以便能够支撑各个方向的所有力和力矩. 悬臂梁通常像这样建模, 左端为支撑,右端为悬臂端:

悬臂梁 - 定义
悬臂梁的一个很好的例子是阳台. 仅一端支持阳台, 光束的其余部分在开放空间上延伸; 另一边没有东西支持. 其他示例是高层建筑地板的连续梁末端或桥段的悬臂梁. 悬臂梁方程.

悬臂梁方程

有一系列方程式可用于计算悬臂梁力和挠度. 这些可以简化为简单的悬臂梁公式, 基于以下:

悬臂梁偏转

取自我们 光束偏转公式和方程 页. 悬臂梁方程可以从以下公式计算, 哪里:

  • W =负载
  • L =成员长度
  • E =杨氏模量
  • I =光束的惯性矩
悬臂梁 - 偏转 - 方程式 悬臂梁挠度方程点荷载
悬臂梁 - 偏转 - 分散负荷 - 方程式 悬臂梁挠度方程分布载荷
悬臂梁 - 偏转 - 自由体图点载荷 - 方程式 悬臂梁挠度方程分布载荷

悬臂梁力矩

那么我们如何计算悬臂梁的最大弯矩力呢?? 您可以使用我们的示例中显示的相同方法来执行此操作 如何计算梁的弯矩 文章. 然而, 您可以使用速记方程式. 例如, 悬臂梁上任意点 x 处的弯矩方程为:

\(M_x = -Px)

哪里:

\(M_x \) = x 点的弯矩
\(P \) = 施加在悬臂末端的载荷
\(X \) = 与固定端的距离 (支撑点) 到沿光束长度的兴趣点.

对于分布式负载, 等式将变为:

\(M_x = – ∫wx) 在长度上 (x1 到 x2)

哪里: w = 分布式负载 x1 和 x2 是集成的限制.

该方程适用于在梁的自由端施加点载荷或均匀分布载荷的简单悬臂梁. 应考虑到悬臂梁可能具有复杂的载荷和边界条件, 例如多点负载, 变化的分布载荷, 甚至倾斜负载, 在这些情况下,上述等式可能无效, 并且可能需要更复杂的方法, 这就是 FEA 派上用场的地方.

悬臂梁应力

如何计算悬臂梁中的应力? 悬臂应力由弯曲力计算得出,取决于梁的横截面. 例如, 如果成员很小, 没有太大的横截面面积可以分散力, 所以压力会很大. 悬臂梁的应力可以从我们的教程中计算得出 如何计算梁应力 或使用 SkyCiv Beam软件 – 会显示出光束的应力.

值得注意的是,悬臂梁通常会导致梁的上部纤维产生张力. 这意味着在混凝土悬臂梁的情况下, 沿上表面通常需要初级抗拉钢筋. 这与两端支撑的传统混凝土梁形成对比, 其中主要的抗拉钢筋通常沿梁的底面存在.

悬臂梁反作用力

悬臂比大多数类型的梁偏转更多,因为它们仅由一端支撑. 这意味着对要转移的负载的支持较少. 悬臂梁偏转 可以通过几种不同的方式计算, 包括使用简化的悬臂梁方程或悬臂梁计算器和软件 (两者的更多信息如下). 悬臂梁固定支撑处的反应方程式简单地给出为:

Y 方向的反作用力 \( = R_y = P)

关于 Z 的力矩 \( = {F}_{和} = Px\)

哪里:

\(F_y \) = 支撑 A 处 Y 方向的反作用力 (固定支撑)
\(M_z \) = 在支撑 A 处关于 Z 的反作用力矩 (固定支撑)
\(P \) = 施加在悬臂梁末端的载荷
\(X \) = 点载荷与支撑的距离

当载荷是悬臂上的点载荷时,该方程式适用. 分配负载时, 它是水平方向上所有力的总和,需要为零. 等式变成:

\(∑F_x = 0\)

其中反作用力是作用在结构上的所有水平力的代数和. 该等式假设支撑是固定支撑, 意味着它没有任何旋转和平移. 如果支撑有一定的自由度, 等式会改变并变得更加复杂. 重要的是要记住,这个方程式只是分析结构的一个步骤, 在实际结构的设计过程中, 几个考虑因素,例如负载组合, 安全系数, 材料特性, 等等. 在完成设计之前将被考虑在内.

悬臂梁设计

在设计悬臂结构时, 应考虑几个重要因素:

  1. 负荷: 悬臂必须能够支撑施加的载荷, 包括结构本身的重量和任何额外的负载,如风, 雪, 和地震荷载. 应分析载荷并在整个结构中适当地分配载荷.
  2. 强度和刚度: 悬臂必须坚固且刚度足以抵抗偏转, 屈曲, 和其他类型的故障. 所用材料的特性, 例如弹性模量和屈服强度, 会影响结构的强度和刚度.
  3. 应力集中: 设计时必须考虑悬臂固定端的应力集中,防止失效. 可以通过使用更大的横截面或使用圆角或圆角来减少应力集中.
  4. 偏转: 应对负载下悬臂的挠度进行分析,以确保其保持在可接受的范围内, 出于结构安全和美学原因.
  5. 耐用性: 该结构的设计应能在预期的使用寿命内持续使用,并且需要最少的维护. 这包括考虑腐蚀等因素, 疲劳, 和风化的影响.
  6. 安全系数: 设计中应考虑并包含安全因素,以确保结构能够承受意外载荷或其他不可预见的情况.
  7. 施工 方法: 设计必须考虑要使用的施工方法, 是否预制, 现浇, 等等. 这将影响连接类型和结构的整体布局.
  8. 成本: 设计应同时考虑初始成本和长期维护成本.
  9. 建筑规范和法规: 设计必须符合建造结构所在辖区的相关建筑规范和法规. 例如, 如果梁是钢的并且位于美国, 应符合AISC的要求 360 设计检查

重要的是要记住这不是一个详尽的清单, 悬臂设计的具体要求和注意事项可能因特定结构及其预期用途而异. 具有悬臂设计专业知识的结构工程师会考虑所有这些因素,甚至更多, 确保设计安全有效.

悬臂梁软件

SkyCiv 光束分析软件 允许用户轻松准确地分析悬臂梁结构. 您可以获得对梁构件的简化分析, 包括反应, 剪力, 弯矩, 偏转, 压力, 并在几秒钟内获得不确定的光束. 应用任何载荷组合并按照美国标准完成完整设计, 欧洲人, 澳洲人, 加拿大标准, 仅举几例!

悬臂梁计算器

如果你想先试一试, 免费的在线光束计算器 是一个很好的开始方式, 或者今天就免费注册!

本文对您有帮助吗??
是的 没有

我们能帮你什么吗?

回到顶部

SkyCiv Documentation

Your guide to SkyCiv software - tutorials, how-to guides and technical articles

  1. Home
  2. Tutorials
  3. Beam Tutorials
  4. A Complete Guide to Cantilever Beam | Deflections and Moments

A Complete Guide to Cantilever Beam | Deflections and Moments

List of Contents

Cantilever Beam Definition: What is a Cantilever Beam?

A cantilever beam is a structural element that extends horizontally and is supported on only one end. The unsupported end is known as the cantilever, and it extends beyond the support point. Cantilever beams are often used in construction to support balconies, roofs, and other overhangs. They can also be used in bridges and other structures to extend the deck out over a waterway or other obstacle.

Cantilever beams are members that are supported from a single side only – typically with fixed support. In order to ensure the structure is static, the support must be fixed so that it is able to support all forces and moments in all directions. A cantilever beam is usually modeled like so, with the left end being the support and the right end being the cantilevered end:

A good example of a cantilever beam is a balcony. A balcony is supported on one end only, the rest of the beam extends over open space; there is nothing supporting it on the other side. Other examples would be the end of a continuous beam of a high rise building floor, or the cantilevered girders of a bridge segment.Cantilever Beam Equations.

Cantilever Beam Equations

There are a range of equations for how to calculate cantilever beam forces and deflections. These can be simplified into simple cantilever beam formula, based on the following:

Cantilever Beam Deflections

Taken from our beam deflection formula and equation page. Cantilever Beam equations can be calculated from the following formula, where:

  • W = Load
  • L = Member Length
  • E = Young’s Modulus
  • I = the beam’s Moment of Inertia
cantilever beam deflection example pl cantilever beam deflection equation point load
cantilever beam deflection example dstributed load cantilever beam deflection equation distributed load
cantilever beam deflection example of free body diagram point load cantilever beam deflection equation distributed load

Cantilever Beam Moments

So how do we calculate the maximum bending moment force of a cantilever beam? You can do this using the same method as shown in our how to calculate bending moment in a beam article. However, there are short hand equations you can use. For instance, the equation for the bending moment at any point x along a cantilever beam is given by:

\(M_x = -Px\)

where:

\(M_x \) = bending moment at point x
\(P \)  = load applied at the end of the cantilever
\(x \) = distance from the fixed end (support point) to point of interest along the length of the beam.

For a distributed load, the equation would change to:

\(M_x = – ∫wx\) over the length (x1 to x2)

where: w = distributed load x1 and x2 are the limits of integration.

This equation is valid for a simple cantilever beam with a point load or a uniformly distributed load applied at the free end of the beam. It should be considered that cantilevers beam can have complex loading and boundary conditions, such as multiple point loads, varying distributed loads, or even inclined loads, in those cases the above equation might not be valid, and a more complex approach might be required, it’s where the FEA comes in handy.

Cantilever Beam Stress

How to calculate stress in a cantilever beam? Cantilever Stress is calculated from the bending force and is dependent on the beam’s cross-section. For instance, if a member is quite small, there is not much cross-sectional area for the force to spread across, so the stress will be quite high. Cantilever beam stress can be calculated from either our tutorial on how to calculate beam stress or using SkyCiv Beam Software – which will show the stresses of your beam.

It’s useful to note that cantilever beams typically result in tension on the upper fibres of the beam. This means that in the case of a concrete cantilever beam, primary tensile reinforcement is typically required along the upper surface. This is in contrast to a conventional concrete beam supported at both ends, where primary tensile reinforcement would typically exist along the bottom surface of the beam.

Cantilever Beam Reaction Forces

Cantilevers deflect more than most types of beams since they are only supported from one end. This means there is less support for the load to be transferred. Cantilever beam deflection can be calculated in a few different ways, including using simplified cantilever beam equations or cantilever beam calculators and software (more information on both is below). The equation for the reaction at a fixed support of a cantilever beam is simply given by:

Reaction Force in Y \( = R_y = P\)

Moment Force about Z  \( = {F}_{y} = Px\)

where:

\(F_y \) = reaction force in the Y direction at support A (the fixed support)
\(M_z \) = reaction moment about Z at support A (the fixed support)
\(P \) = the load applied at the end of the cantilever beam
\(x \) = distance of point load from support

This equation applies when the load is a point load on a cantilever. When the load is distributed, it is the summation of all forces in the horizontal direction that needs to be zero. The equation becomes:

\(∑F_x = 0\)

Where the reaction force would be the algebraic sum of all the horizontal forces acting on the structure. This equation assumes that the support is a fixed support, meaning that it does not have any rotation or translation. If the support has some degrees of freedom, the equation would change and become more complex. It’s important to keep in mind that this equation is just one step in analyzing a structure, in the design process of a real structure, several considerations such as load combinations, safety factors, material properties, etc. will be taken into account before finalizing a design.

Cantilever Beam Design

When designing a cantilever structure, several important factors should be considered:

  1. Loads: The cantilever must be able to support the applied loads, including the weight of the structure itself and any additional loads such as wind, snow, and seismic loads. The loads should be analyzed and distributed appropriately throughout the structure.
  2. Strength and stiffness: The cantilever must be strong and stiff enough to resist deflection, buckling, and other types of failure. The properties of the materials used, such as the modulus of elasticity and yield strength, will affect the strength and stiffness of the structure.
  3. Stress concentration: The stress concentration at the fixed end of the cantilever must be taken into account in the design to prevent failure. Stress concentration can be reduced by using larger cross-sections or by using fillets or rounded corners.
  4. Deflection: The deflection of the cantilever under load should be analyzed to ensure that it remains within acceptable limits, both for structural safety and also for aesthetic reasons.
  5. Durability: The structure should be designed to last for the intended service life with minimal maintenance required. This includes considering factors such as corrosion, fatigue, and the effects of weathering.
  6. Safety factors: Safety factors should be considered and included in the design to ensure that the structure can withstand unexpected loads or other unforeseen circumstances.
  7. Construction methods: The design must take into account the method of construction to be used, whether it be pre-fabricated, cast-in-place, etc. This will affect the type of connections and the overall layout of the structure.
  8. Cost: Design should consider both initial cost and long-term maintenance costs.
  9. Building codes and regulations: The design must be compliant with the relevant building codes and regulations in the jurisdiction where the structure will be built. For instance, if the beam is steel and based in the US, it should comply with the requirements of AISC 360 Design Checks

It’s important to keep in mind that this is not an exhaustive list, and the specific requirements and considerations for a cantilever design may vary depending on the particular structure and its intended use. A structural engineer with expertise in cantilever design would take all of these factors into account and more, to ensure that the design is safe and effective.

Cantilever Beam Software

SkyCiv Beam Analysis Software allows users to analyze cantilever beam structures easily and accurately. You can get a simplified analysis of your beam member, including reactions, shear force, bending moment, deflection, stresses, and indeterminate beams in a matter of seconds. Apply any combination of loads and complete a full design as per American, European, Australian, Canadian Standards, to name a few!

If you want to give it a try first, Free Online Beam Calculator is a great way to start, or simply sign up for free today!

Was this article helpful to you?
Yes No

How can we help?

Go to Top