SkyCiv文档

您的SkyCiv软件指南 - 教程, 使用指南和技术文章

讲解

  1. 讲解
  2. 基础设计教程
  3. 建立基础的完整指南: 定义, 种类, 和用途

建立基础的完整指南: 定义, 种类, 和用途

目录

Definition of Building Foundation

基础将力从结构系统传递到某些外部源, 通常是地面. 大地本质上具有无限的稳定性, 这使它成为转移结构载荷的好地方.

在结构模型中, 基金会通常表示为 支持, 或边界条件. 它们充当加载路径的端点.

基金会有多种用途, 包含:

  • 在短期内, 稳定和支撑结构.
  • 在长期, 抵抗不均匀沉降,增加结构寿命.
  • 将荷载从柱子分散到更大的区域.
  • 重新分配不均匀的结构载荷.
  • Protect the structure against soil erosion underneath the foundation.
  • Assist in lateral stability against lateral loads such as wind and earthquakes.

地基所在的土壤, 或者堆成, is a critical aspect of a foundation’s design and must be analyzed and checked for its stability. Different soil types such as clay behave very differently to others such as sand. These behavioural differences are expressed through physical values such as soil cohesion and friction angle.

基础类型

通常, 基础系统分为浅基础和深基础. 浅地基几乎总是靠在地球上. 该遗址被挖掘到相对 深度, 在地面标高之下. 它们更容易构建, 更便宜, 和, 因此, usually a more popular design option for smaller structures.

数字 1: Foundation Systems

Difference Between ‘Footingsand ‘Foundations

The terms footing and foundation are commonly confused for one another.

A ‘foundationis a general term used to denote a part of a structure that transfers the load from the superstructure to the supporting ground. 它可以分为浅基础或深基础.

A ‘footingis a part of a foundation in contact with the ground. 通常, 基础仅与浅基础相关联. Refer to the Foundation Systems diagram above. All footings are considered foundations, 但并非所有的基础都是立足点.

深基础和浅基础的区别

浅层地基主要用于将载荷转移到位于地面的承重土中的情况。 深度 (少至 1 米或 3 脚). 深厚的基础vs (从 20-65 米或 60-200 脚).

在土壤条件不利的地点通常会发现较深的地基. 例如, 大多数海洋项目将使用深层地基来增加稳定性. 构建深层地基的过程更复杂,成本更高. 需要较重的设备, 熟练劳动力, 适当的时间管理. 可以将深地基打入地下或抛向地面, 土壤更难挖掘, 随着你深入,土壤压力会增加. 深厚的基础提供横向支撑, 抵抗隆起, 并支持更大的负载. 它依赖于端部轴承和皮肤摩擦.

通过对比, 浅基础更便宜, 需要更少的劳动力, 设备, 和材料. 它们主要依靠土壤上的端部轴承. 浅层基础中的加固有助于抵抗基础的倾覆和弯曲.

浅粉底

孤立的基础

孤立的基础, 也称为点差或垫脚, 是最简单,最常见的基础类型. 每个基础都支撑着它的柱子,它可以承受负载并将其传播到它所承受的土壤上. 孤立的基础几乎总是正方形或矩形. 这使它们更易于分析和构建. 基脚的尺寸是根据立柱上的载荷估算的, 安全承载力, 和过度的土壤沉降.

图形隔离基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 2: 孤立的立足点

墙脚

墙脚, 也被称为地基, 支撑承重墙和非结构墙的重量. 类似于孤立的地基, 立足点面积越大, 基础限制沉降的能力越大. 条形基础可用于支撑承重墙, 因为它们不仅能抵抗结构的恒载, 还有其他设计载荷. 墙脚也用普通或钢筋混凝土浇铸,有时在运到现场之前进行预制.
图墙立足, 基础类型, 基础

数字 3: 墙脚

综合基础

像孤立的立足点, 的 组合基础 当柱承受结构载荷时建造. 当两个或更多柱彼此如此接近以至于它们的孤立基础重叠时使用. 当基础材料为基础时,组合基础的建设可能更经济 (具体) 比劳动力便宜,可以形成两个单独的立足点. 组合基础可以是矩形的, 梯形的, 或 T 形, 取决于基础支持的列的大小和位置.

图组合基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 4: 联合立足

表带基础

表带基础, 也称为悬臂基础, 是用带梁连接的两个孤立的基础.

带梁通常连接两个支撑柱子的基础,以抵抗显着的侧向力. 中央带梁将有助于减少横向载荷的影响,而不会对土壤施加额外的重力压力, 如果使用组合基础会发生这种情况.
图带基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 5: 表带基础

马特基金会

顾名思义, 垫子基础, 也称为筏式基金会, 是一种完全分布在建筑物区域的基础,支撑来自柱子或墙壁的重物, 类似于地面上的平板. 它最常用于地下室建筑,其中整个地下室楼板作为基础. 当建筑物由软土支撑时选择垫子基础. 因此,建筑负荷分布在一个非常大的区域. 这可以防止在孤立的基础上普遍存在的差异沉降. 当建筑物占地面积相对较小或柱子靠得很近时,这是最合适且最经济的使用, 限制材料成本. 反过来, 当地下水位于土壤的承压面以上时,不宜建造垫式地基.
人物垫基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 6: 垫子或木筏基金会

d深基础

桩基

任何基础类型的目的都是将载荷或力从上层建筑传递到地面,而不会产生过多沉降. 桩基通常用于位于薄弱或饱和土壤深度的项目,其中开挖深度不适用于浅地基. 直径不同,但比宽度深得多. 来自上部结构的载荷通过弱可压缩土层从桩传递到较硬的土壤或坚硬的岩石. 它们可以由钢制成, 木材, 现浇, 或预制混凝土. 现浇混凝土桩是通过使用长的旋转钻头在地下挖出一个钻孔并用钢筋和混凝土填充该钻孔制成的. 如果井壁不能支撑自己, 钢衬管可以保持钻孔的形状. 使用安装在重型机械上的打桩锤将预制桩垂直或以一定角度打入地下. 有时, 使用桩帽将桩顶高处浇铸在一起, 基本上, 孤立的立足点, 创建可以支撑大圆柱的桩组 (见图 7)

使用桩基的优势:

  1. 可以在受控环境中将桩预制成任何所需的规格或设计要求.
  2. 预制桩被运送到现场并可以立即安装, 从而导致更快的工作进度.
  3. 现浇混凝土桩可以支撑摩天大楼等大型和高大的结构, 浅薄的地基不能满足要求的地方.
  4. 打入桩也可用于因地下水位受压不宜钻孔的地方.
  5. 桩基可用于无法使用其他土壤类型的土壤条件.

使用桩基的缺点:

  1. 如果打入地下,混凝土桩需要充分加固以承受应力
  2. 规划和设备对于正确处理和将桩打入地下至关重要
  3. 当桩被打入排水质量低或差的土壤时,土壤或已经打入的桩可能会弹出.
  4. 打桩会产生振动, 影响相邻结构的完整性.

图桩基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 7: 桩基和桩帽

码头 (套管) 基础

码头或沉箱基础类似于单桩基础,但具有更大的“桩”柱直径. 沉箱基础的安装方式也有所不同. 不像桩基, 码头基础是通过挖掘或疏the地下的土壤并用混凝土和钢筋加固的方式建造的. 沉箱也可以钻入基岩或停留在土层上, 但是需要一个“喇叭形”横截面才能将负载分散到更广泛的区域 (如图 8). 因为有水, 墩基础依靠端部轴承来抵抗上部结构载荷, 与桩基相反, 它通过端轴承和皮肤摩擦传递载荷. 通常, 当在可到达深度处没有坚固地层时安装桩基, and pier foundations are often used when the top layer of soil consists of decomposed rocks or stiff clay.

图形沉箱基础, 基础类型

数字 8: 带桩帽的码头或沉箱基础

免费的混凝土基础计算器

我希望本教程能帮助您更多地了解结构工程中使用的不同类型的基础. 看看我们的 免费的混凝土基础计算器, 的简化版本 SkyCiv基础设计软件, 或立即注册以开始使用 SkyCiv 软件!

本文对您有帮助吗??
是的 没有

我们能帮你什么吗?

回到顶部

SkyCiv Documentation

Your guide to SkyCiv software - tutorials, how-to guides and technical articles

  1. Home
  2. Tutorials
  3. Foundation Design Tutorials
  4. A Complete Guide to Building Foundations: Definition, Types, and Uses

A Complete Guide to Building Foundations: Definition, Types, and Uses

Table of Contents

Definition of Building Foundation

Foundations transfer forces from structural systems to some external source, typically the ground. The ground has essentially infinite stability, which makes it a great place to transfer the loads of your structure.

In a structural model, foundations are often represented as Supports, or boundary conditions. They act as an endpoint for a load path.

Foundations serve several purposes, including:

  • In the short term, stabilize and support the structure.
  • In the long term, resist differential settlement and increase the lifespan of the structure.
  • Distribute loads from columns to a larger area.
  • Redistribute uneven structural loads.
  • Protect the structure against soil erosion underneath the foundation.
  • Assist in lateral stability against lateral loads such as wind and earthquakes.

The soil where the foundation sits, or is piled into, is a critical aspect of a foundation’s design and must be analyzed and checked for its stability. Different soil types such as clay behave very differently to others such as sand. These behavioural differences are expressed through physical values such as soil cohesion and friction angle.

Types of Foundations

Generally, foundation systems are divided into shallow and deep foundations. Shallow foundations are almost always cast against the earth. The site is excavated to relatively shallow depths, underneath the ground elevation. They are easier to construct, cheaper, and, therefore, usually a more popular design option for smaller structures.

Figure 1: Foundation Systems

Difference Between ‘Footings’ and ‘Foundations’

The terms footing and foundation are commonly confused for one another.

A ‘foundation’ is a general term used to denote a part of a structure that transfers the load from the superstructure to the supporting ground. It can be either classified as a shallow or deep foundation.

A ‘footing’ is a part of a foundation in contact with the ground. Typically, footings are associated with shallow foundations only. Refer to the Foundation Systems diagram above. All footings are considered foundations, but not all foundations are footings.

Difference between Deep and Shallow Foundations

Shallow foundations are used primarily when the load will be transferred into a bearing soil located at a shallow depth (as little as 1 meter or 3 feet). Deep foundations are used when the load is transferred into deep strata (ranging from 20-65 meters or 60-200 feet).

Deep foundations are more commonly found on sites where the soil conditions are unfavorable. For example, most marine projects will use deep foundations for additional stability. The process of constructing a deep foundation is more complex and costly. It requires heavier equipment, skilled labor, and proper time management. Deep foundations can be driven into the ground or cast against the earth, soil is much harder to excavate, and soil pressure increases as you go deeper. A deep foundation provides lateral support, resists uplift, and supports larger loads. It relies on both end bearing and skin friction.

By comparison, shallow foundations are cheaper, requiring less labor, equipment, and materials. They rely primarily on end bearing on the soil. Reinforcement in shallow foundations helps resist overturning and bending of the foundation.

Shallow Foundations

Isolated Footings

Isolated footings, also known as spread or pad footings, are the simplest and most common type of foundation. Each footing supports its column that it takes the load from and spreads it to the soil it’s bearing on. Isolated footings are almost always square or rectangular. This makes them easier to analyze and construct. Dimensions of the footing are estimated based on the loads from the column, the safe bearing capacity, and excessive soil settlement.

figure-isolated-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 2: Isolated Footing

Wall Footings

Wall footings, also known as strip footings, support the weight from load-bearing and non-structural walls. Similar to isolated footings, the greater the footing area, the greater the ability for the footing to limit settlement. Strip footings are useful in supporting load-bearing walls, as they resist not just dead loads of the structure, but also other design loads. Wall footings are also cast with plain or reinforced concrete and sometimes are precast before being brought to the site.
figure-wall-footing, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 3: Wall Footing

Combined Footings

Like isolated footings, the combined footing is constructed when columns carry structural loads. This is used when two or more columns are so close to each other that their isolated footing overlap. Construction of combined footings may be more economical when the footing materials (concrete) are cheaper than the labor to form two separate footings. Combined footings may be rectangular, trapezoidal, or tee-shaped, depending on the size and location of the columns supported by the footing.

figure-combined-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 4: Combined Footing

Strap Footings

Strap footings, also known as cantilever footings, are two isolated footings connected with a strap beam.

Strap beams commonly connect two footings that support columns resisting significant lateral forces. The central strap beam will help reduce the effects of the lateral load without placing additional gravity pressure onto the soil, which would occur if a combined footing were used.
figure-strap-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 5: Strap Foundation

Mat Foundation

As the name implies, a mat foundation, also known as raft foundation, is a type of foundation spread entirely across the area of the building supporting heavy loads from columns or walls, similar to a slab on ground. It is most often used with basement construction where the entire basement floor slab acts as the foundation. Mat foundation is chosen when the building is supported by weak soil. Thus building loads are spread over an extremely large area. This prevents differential settlement that would be prevalent with isolated footings. This is most suitable and economical to use when the building footprint is relatively small or if columns are close together, limiting material cost. Conversely, mat foundations are not desirable to construct when the groundwater is located above the bearing surface of the soil.
figure-mat-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 6: Mat or Raft Foundation

Deep Foundations

Pile Foundation

The purpose of any foundation type is to transmit loads or forces from the superstructure to the ground without excessive settlement. Pile foundations are commonly used for projects that lie on weak or saturated soil depths where the excavation depth is not feasible for shallow foundations. Piles vary in diameter but are much deeper than they are wide. The load from the superstructure is transferred from the piles through the weakly compressible soil strata down to stiffer soils or hard rock. They can be made from steel, timber, cast-in-place, or precast concrete. Cast-in-place concrete piles are made by hollowing out a borehole in the earth using a long rotary drill and filling that borehole with steel reinforcement and concrete. If the borehole walls cannot support themselves, steel liners can hold the borehole’s shape. Precast piles are driven into the ground vertically or at an angle to the vertical using a pile hammer attached to heavy machinery. Sometimes, piles are cast together at their top elevation using a pile cap, basically, an isolated footing, to create a pile group that can support a large column (See Figure 7)

Advantages of using pile foundations:

  1. Piles can be precast into any required specification or design requirement in a controlled environment.
  2. Precast piles are shipped to the site and immediately able for installation, thus resulting in more rapid work progress.
  3. Cast-in-place concrete piles can support large and tall structures like skyscrapers, where a shallow foundation would not suffice.
  4. Driven piles can also be used in locations where it is not advisable to drill holes due to pressurized groundwater tables.
  5. Pile foundations can be used in locations where soil conditions make other foundation types impossible.

Disadvantages of using pile foundations:

  1. Concrete piles need to be reinforced adequately to sustain the stresses if driven into the ground
  2. Planning and equipment is essential for proper handling and driving of piles into the ground
  3. The heaving of the soil or an already driven pile may pop up when a pile is driven into the soil with low or poor drainage qualities.
  4. The driving of piles generates vibration, affecting the integrity of adjacent structures.

figure-pile-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 7: Pile Foundations  and Pile Cap

Pier (Caisson) Foundation

Pier or Caisson foundations are similar to a single pile foundation but with a larger “pile” column diameter. Caisson foundations are also installed differently. Unlike the pile foundation, pier foundations are constructed by excavating or dredging the soil beneath the ground and filling it with concrete and steel reinforcement. Caissons can also be drilled into the bedrock or rest on soil strata, but a “belled” cross-section is required to spread the load over a wider area (as shown in Figure 8). Because of the presence of water, pier foundations rely on end bearing to resist the superstructure loads, contrary to the pile foundation, which transfers loads through end bearing and skin friction. Typically, pile foundations are installed when there are no firm strata at a reachable depth, and pier foundations are often used when the top layer of soil consists of decomposed rocks or stiff clay. 

figure-caisson-foundation, types of foundation

Figure 8: Pier or Caisson Foundation with Pile Cap

Free Concrete Footing Calculator

I hope this tutorial has helped you understand more about different types of foundation used in structural engineering. Check out our Free Concrete Footing Calculator, a simplified version of SkyCiv Foundation Design Software, or sign up today to get started with SkyCiv software!

Was this article helpful to you?
Yes No

How can we help?

Go to Top