SkyCiv文档

您的SkyCiv软件指南 - 教程, 使用指南和技术文章

讲解

  1. 讲解
  2. 基础设计教程
  3. 桩基设计简要指南

桩基设计简要指南

How to Design Pile Foundation?

深厚的基础, such as a pile, is a structural member that transmits loads from the superstructure to bedrock or a stronger layer of soil. 桩可以用钢制成, 具体, 或木材. 在成本方面, piles foundation costs are higher than shallow foundations. 尽管它的成本, 出于结构安全目的,经常需要使用桩.

图桩基础, how to design pile foundation, pile foundation design
数字 1: 桩基

我们什么时候可以使用打桩?

弱土

如果上层土层太弱或太易压缩而无法支撑上层建筑传递的载荷, 桩用于将这些负荷转移到更坚固的土壤层或基岩上. Piles that transmit loads into a bedrock are called end-bearing piles. 这种类型的桩仅取决于桩尖处基础材料的承重能力. 另一方面, 当基岩太深时, 桩可以通过摩擦逐渐将载荷传递到周围的土壤中. This type of pile is called friction pile.

水平力

桩是承受水平力的结构的更合适基础. 桩可以通过弯曲抵抗水平作用,同时能够传递来自上层建筑的垂直力. 这是设计承受高风或地震力的挡土结构和高层结构的典型情况.

膨胀或塌陷的土壤

土壤的膨胀或收缩可能会给地基增加相当大的压力. 由于水分含量的增加或减少,它发生在膨胀或塌陷的土壤上. 它也可能对浅层基础造成更大的破坏; 在这种情况下, 桩可用于将基础扩展到活动区域之外或可能发生膨胀和收缩的地方.

提升力

静水压力会产生升力, 地震活动, 倾覆的时刻, 或任何可能导致地基从地面上拔出的力. 在输电塔等结构上很常见, 离岸平台, 和地下室. 在这种情况下, 桩基被认为可以抵抗这些隆起力.

水土流失

地面的水土流失可能会导致土壤承载力的损失,这可能严重破坏具有浅层基础的结构.

我们如何估算桩的长度?

土质调查在选择桩型和估算桩的必要长度方面起着重要作用. 估算桩长需要对岩土现场数据进行良好的技术判断. 可以根据从结构到土壤的载荷传递机制进行分类: (一个) 端承桩. (b) 摩擦桩, 和 (C) 压实桩.

端承桩

承重桩的极限承载力取决于桩尖下方基础材料的承载力. 只要确定基岩或坚固的土壤层的深度,就可以很容易地估算出这类桩的必要长度. 例如存在硬地层而不是基岩的情况, 桩的长度可以延长到土壤层几米, 如图2b所示.

摩擦桩

摩擦桩 (图2c) 当基岩层或硬层不存在或位于不合理的深度时使用. 在这种情况下, 端承桩的使用变得很长且不经济. 摩擦桩的极限承载能力来自沿桩长和周围土壤产生的表皮摩擦. 摩擦桩的长度与土壤的抗剪强度有关, 外加负荷, 和堆大小.

压实桩

压实桩是一种通过粒状土壤打入的桩,以实现对地面附近土壤的适当压实. 压实桩的长度主要取决于压实前后的相对密度, 以及所需的压实深度. 压实桩通常比其他类型的桩短.

how to design pile foundation, pile foundation design
数字 2: (一个) 和 (b) 端承桩, (C) 摩擦桩

 

桩的荷载传递机制

考虑一个长度为L且直径为D的承重桩, 如图 2. 桩上的荷载Q应主要受到桩Q底部的土壤的抵抗p., 部分是由于沿轴Q产生的皮肤摩擦s. 通常, 的 极限承载能力 (Qu) 桩的阻力可以用桩尖端承受的载荷与皮肤摩擦阻力的总和来表示, 或如方程式所示 1.

ü = p + s (1)

ü =极限承载能力

p =轴承的承载能力

s =皮肤摩擦阻力

然而, 用于承重桩, 荷载Q主要受到桩顶下方的土壤的抵抗,而皮肤的摩擦阻力很小. 另一方面, 摩擦桩上的载荷Q主要仅受到表皮摩擦而不是端承能力的抵抗 p. 端承和摩擦桩的极限承载力在方程式上 2 和 3, 分别.

üp (2)

üs (3)

我们如何设计桩?

由于解释岩土数据涉及的所有不确定性,深层基础(例如桩)的设计和分析在某种程度上是一种艺术形式. 尽管进行了大量的理论和实验方法来分析各种土壤类型中桩的行为并估计桩的承载能力, 但是呢, 我们对桩基础的机理还有很多了解. 幸好, 随着结构工程的发展, 我们可以使用各种软件来最大程度地减少这些不确定性并减少计算时间.

以下是一些我们可以遵循的设计桩基础的过程:

岩土报告数据

如前所述, 基础前设计数据, 如桩型, 长度, 和大小, 是根据岩土工程报告数据预先确定的. 进一步的桩基础设计和分析所必需的一些关键参数是土壤类型, 单位重量, 剪切强度, 路基反应模量, 和地下水数据

结构分析

结构工程领域的最新发展包括结构设计软件,该软件旨在增强我们作为结构工程师的技能并提供安全的设计, 特别是对于复杂的结构. 我们可以使用多种FEA软件来对我们的结构进行建模并生成反应, 剪切力, 上部结构的支撑和弯矩. 然后将所得数据用于基础设计和分析.

基础设计

类似于我们用来分析和生成上层建筑的支撑反应的FEA软件, 还有很多基础设计软件,我们可以根据不同的设计规范来设计桩基. (注意: 用于简化的计算器, 免费试用 具体的基础计算器).

桩基设计软件需要各种输入来执行设计检查. 它包括几何数据, 土壤剖面, 混凝土和钢筋的材料性能, 钢筋布局, 设计规范规定的设计参数, 以及从结构分析软件导出的反应数据.

数字 3: 基础设计软件

对桩基础设计进行的一些标准设计检查:


岩土能力检查 当通过施加的垂直载荷除以土壤的承载力确定土壤的最终承载力时,就完成了. 该比率不得超过的值 1.0. 还可以通过估算极限荷载和允许的横向荷载的值来检查横向荷载的桩.

结构能力检查 通过确定轴向来执行, 剪力, 和抗弯能力符合所选的设计规范. 虽然对于桩基, 岩土性故障比结构性故障更容易发生, 仍然需要执行此检查以采取安全措施.

优化

结构工程师在设计任何类型的结构时应始终优先考虑安全性. 然而, 工程师还可以通过试验不同的桩号来优化设计, 钢筋布局, 从而减少了材料的总量,减少了结构的总成本,同时又不影响安全性并仍保持规范要求的最低标准.

摘要

桩基的设计过程通常涉及对岩土现场数据的良好解释, 通过FEA软件对上部结构进行建模和分析, 产生支持反应, 基础设计检查和优化,以设计出安全,经济的设计.

本文对您有帮助吗??
是的 没有

我们能帮你什么吗?

回到顶部

SkyCiv Documentation

Your guide to SkyCiv software - tutorials, how-to guides and technical articles

Tutorials

  1. Home
  2. Tutorials
  3. Foundation Design Tutorials
  4. A Brief Guide on Pile Foundation Design

A Brief Guide on Pile Foundation Design

A deep foundation, such as piles, is a structural member that transmit loads from the superstructure to bedrock or a stronger layer of soil. Piles can be made of steel, concrete, or timber. In terms of cost, piles foundation costs higher than shallow foundations. Despite its cost, piles are often necessary for structural safety purposes.

figure-pile-foundation
Figure 1: Piles foundation

When can we use Piles?

Weak soils

If the upper soil layers are too weak or highly compressible to support the loads transmitted by the superstructure, piles are used to transfer these loads into a stronger layer of soil or onto a bedrock. Piles which transmits loads into a bedrock are called end-bearing piles. This type of pile solely relies on the load-bearing capacity of the underlying material at the tip of the pile. On the other hand, when bedrock is too deep, piles can transmit the loads through the surrounding soil gradually by friction. This type of pile is called friction piles.

Horizontal forces

Piles are a more suitable foundation for structures subjected to horizontal forces. Piles can resist horizontal actions through bending while being able to transmit vertical forces from the superstructure. This is a typical situation for designing earth-retaining structures and tall structures subjected to high wind or seismic forces.

Expansive or collapsible soils

Swelling or shrinking of soils may add a considerable amount of pressure to the foundation. It occurs on expansive or collapsible soils due to the increase or decrease in moisture content. It may also cause more damage for shallow foundations; in this case, piles can be used to extend the foundation beyond the active zone or where the swelling and shrinking might occur.

Uplift forces

Uplift forces are developed as a result of hydrostatic pressures, seismic activity, overturning moments, or any forces that may cause the foundation to be extracted from the ground. It is common on structures such as transmission towers, offshore platforms, and basements. In this situation, pile foundation is considered to resist these uplift forces.

Soil erosion

Soil erosion at the ground surface may cause the loss of bearing capacity of the soil.This may severely damage structures with shallow foundations.

How Do We Estimate the length of the pile?

Soil investigation plays a significant role in the selection of pile type and estimation of the necessary length of the pile. Estimating the length of pile requires good technical judgement on the geotechnical site data. It can be classified depending on the load-transfer mechanism from the structure to the soil: (a) end-bearing piles. (b) friction piles, and (c) compaction piles.

End-bearing piles

The ultimate load capacity of end-bearing pile depends on the load-bearing capacity of the underlying material at the tip of the pile. The necessary length of this type of pile can easily be estimated by determining the location of bedrock or a strong layer of soil as long as it is at a reasonable depth. For instances where a hard stratum is present rather than bedrock, the length of the pile can be extended for a few more meters into the soil layer, as shown in Figure 2b.

Friction piles

Friction piles (Figure 2c) are used when the bedrock layer or hard stratum doesn’t exist or located at unreasonable depth. In that case, the use of end-bearing piles become very long and uneconomical. The ultimate load capacity of friction piles is derived from the skin friction developed along the length of the pile and the surrounding soil. Length of friction piles is relative to the shear strength of soil, applied load, and pile size.

Compaction piles

Compaction piles are a type of piles which are driven through granular soils to achieve proper compaction of soil near the ground surface. Length of compaction piles depends mainly on the relative density before and after the compaction, and the required depth of compaction. Compaction piles are generally shorter than the other types of piles.

Figure 2: (a) and (b) End-bearing piles, (c) Friction Piles

Load Transfer Mechanism for Piles

Consider a loaded pile with length L and diameter D, as shown in Figure 2. The load Q on the pile shall be resisted mainly by the soil at the bottom of the pile Qp., and partly by skin friction developed along the shaft Qs.  Generally, the ultimate load-carrying capacity (Qu) of a pile can be represented by the sum of the load resisted at the tip of the pile and the load resisted through skin friction, or as shown on equation 1.

Qu = Qp + Qs (1)

Qu = Ultimate load-carrying capacity

Q= End-bearing load capacity

Qs = Skin-frictional resistance

However, for end-bearing piles, load Q is mostly resisted by the soil below the tip of the pile and skin frictional resistance is minimal. On the other hand, the load Q on friction piles is mostly resisted only by the skin friction rather than the end-bearing capacity Qp. Ultimate load capacities for end-bearing and friction piles are on equations 2 and 3, respectively.

QuQp    (2)

QuQs     (3)

How do we design piles?

The design and analysis of deep foundations such as piles is somehow a form of art because of all the uncertainties involved in interpreting geotechnical data. Although numerous theoretical and experimental approach was conducted to analyze the behaviour and estimate the load-carrying capacity of piles in various soil types, but yet, we still have a lot to understand on the mechanism of piles foundation. Fortunately, with the advancement in structural engineering, there is various software which we can use to minimize these uncertainties and reduce calculation time.

The following are some of the processes we can follow to design piles foundation:

Geotechnical report data

As discussed earlier, pre-foundation design data, such as pile type, length, and size, are pre-determined based on geotechnical report data. Some of the critical parameters which are necessary for further piles foundation design and analysis are the soil types, unit weight, shear strength, modulus of subgrade reaction, and groundwater data

Structural analysis

Recent developments in structural engineering include structural design software which aims to enhance our skills as structural engineers and produce safe designs, especially with complex structures. There is various FEA software which we can use to model our structures and generate reactions, shear forces, and bending moments of the supports from the superstructure. The resulting data shall be then used for foundation design and analysis.

Foundation design

Similar to the FEA software we used to analyze and generate support reactions of the superstructure, there is also numerous foundation design software which we can use to design piles foundation in accordance with different design codes. (note: for a simplified calculator, try our free concrete footing calculator).

Foundation design software for piles requires various input to perform design checks. It includes geometry data, soil profiles, material properties for concrete and steel reinforcements, reinforcement layouts, design parameters specified by the design codes, and the reaction data exported from the structural analysis software.

Figure 3: Foundation design software

Some of the standard design checks that are performed for the design of piles foundation:


Geotechnical capacity check is completed when the end-bearing capacity of the soil is determined by dividing the applied vertical loads by the load-carrying capacity of the soil. The ratio should not exceed a value of 1.0. Laterally loaded piles are also checked by estimating the values of the ultimate and allowable lateral loads.

Structural capacity checks are performed by determining axial, shear, and flexural capacities in accordance with the chosen design code. Although for a pile foundation, geotechnical failure is more likely to occur than structural failure, it is still necessary to perform this check for safety measures.

Optimization

A structural engineer should always prioritize safety in designing any types of structures. However, engineers may also optimize their design by experimenting different pile sizes, reinforcement layouts, resulting to a reduced total amount of materials and the overall cost of the structure without compromising safety and still maintaining the minimum standards required by the code.

Summary

The process of designing piles foundation generally involves good interpretation of geotechnical site data, modelling and analysis of the superstructure through an FEA software, generate support reactions, foundation design checks and optimization to come up with a safe and economical design.

Was this article helpful to you?
Yes No

How can we help?

Try SkyCiv Today

Structural Analysis Software free signup widget. SkyCiv Structural Design Software.

Powerful, web-based Structural Analysis and Design software

Go to Top