SkyCiv文档

您的SkyCiv软件指南 - 教程, 使用指南和技术文章

讲解

  1. 讲解
  2. 基础设计教程
  3. 基础类型及其用途

基础类型及其用途

通常, 基础系统分为浅基础和深基础. 浅地基几乎总是靠在地球上. 该遗址被挖掘到相对 深度, 在地面标高之下. 它们更容易构建, 更便宜, 和, 因此, 通常比深厚的基础更受欢迎的设计选择.

基础和基础之间的区别

术语基础和基础是土木工程中使用的常用词, 但仍然, 有些人不承认这两个术语之间的区别. 基础是一个通用术语,用于表示将荷载从上部结构转移到支撑地面的结构的一部分. 它可以分为浅基础或深基础. 另一方面, 基础是与地面接触的基础的一部分. 通常, 基础仅与浅基础相关联. 基础可能包括基础, 堆, 码头, 或沉箱, 而基础仅由钢筋混凝土板组成. 简单来说, 所有的基础都被认为是基础, 但并非所有的基础都是立足点.

深厚的基础vs. 深厚的基础vs

在土壤条件不利的地点通常会发现较深的地基. 例如, 深厚的基础vs. 这是因为深层的基础将深入地底, 过去恶劣的土壤条件, 通常降落在更稳定的坚硬岩石型土壤上.

深厚的基础vs, 承重土的深度, 负荷转移法, 和设计能力. 浅层地基主要用于将载荷转移到位于地面的承重土中的情况。 深度 (少至 1 米或 3 脚). 深厚的基础vs (从 20-65 米或 60-200 脚).

深厚的基础vs, 设备, 和材料. 如前所述, 深厚的基础vs.

建立深厚的基础的过程更加复杂且成本更高. 需要较重的设备, 熟练劳动力, 适当的时间管理. 可以将深地基打入地下或抛向地面. 土壤更难挖掘, 随着你深入,土壤压力会增加.

浅层基础主要依靠端部支撑土壤. 浅层基础中的加固有助于抵抗基础的倾覆和弯曲. 深厚的基础提供横向支撑, 抵抗隆起, 并支持更大的负载. 它依赖于端部轴承和皮肤摩擦. 不同类型的浅基础和深基础如图所示 1.

基础系统图, 基础类型, 基础

数字 1: 基础系统的类型

浅基础的类型

孤立的基础

孤立的基础, 也称为点差或垫脚, 是最简单,最常见的基础类型. 它们通常用于从结构传递到土壤的载荷来自柱子. Each footing supports its column that it takes the load from and spreads it to the soil it’s bearing on. 孤立的基础几乎总是正方形或矩形. 这使它们更易于分析和构建. 基脚的尺寸是根据立柱上的载荷估算的, 安全承载力, 和过度的土壤沉降.

图形隔离基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 2: 孤立的立足点

墙脚

墙脚, 也被称为地基, 支撑来自承重墙和非结构墙的重量,以在土壤具有足够承重能力的土壤区域内传递和分配载荷. 类似于孤立的地基, 更广阔的立足点, 它越分散墙壁的重力以减少沉降的机会. 这在支撑承重墙时特别有用, 因为它们不仅可以支撑结构的恒载,还可以支撑设计载荷. 墙脚也用普通或钢筋混凝土浇铸,有时在运到现场之前进行预制. 只要施加的负载最小并且基础下的土壤具有良好的土壤条件,就可以构建经济的墙基础.
图墙立足, 基础类型, 基础

数字 3: 墙脚

综合基础

像孤立的立足点, 当柱子承载结构载荷时构建组合基础. 当两个或更多柱彼此如此接近以至于它们的孤立基础重叠时使用. 当基础材料为基础时,组合基础的建设可能更经济 (具体) 比劳动力便宜,可以形成两个单独的立足点. 当柱子靠近建筑红线时,也可以提供组合基础, 当完全保持在属性线中时,这使得孤立的基础偏心加载. 合并的基础可能是矩形, 梯形的, 或计划中的 T 形, 取决于基础支持的列的大小和位置.

图组合基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 4: 联合立足

表带基础

表带基础, 也称为悬臂基础, 是用带梁连接的两个孤立的基础. 如果孤立的基础之间的距离足够大,以致于使用组合基础,则使用带状基础, 基脚的宽度变窄并导致高弯矩. 特别, 带梁通常连接两个支撑柱子的基础,这些柱子承载大量横向力. 带束梁将有助于减少其在运行方向上的横向载荷的影响,并且不会在土壤上施加任何额外的垂直重力.
图带基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 5: 表带基础

马特基金会

顾名思义, 垫子基础, 也称为筏式基金会, 是一种完全分布在建筑物区域的基础,支撑来自柱子或墙壁的重物, 类似于板坯. 它最常用于建造地下室时,其中整个地下室楼板作为基础. 当建筑物由软土支撑时选择垫子基础. 因此,建筑负荷分布在一个非常大的区域. 这可以防止在孤立的基础上普遍存在的差异沉降. 当建筑物占地面积相对较小或柱子靠得很近时,这是最合适且最经济的使用, 限制材料成本. 反过来, 当地下水位于土壤的承压面以上时,不宜建造垫式地基.
人物垫基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 6: 垫子或木筏基金会

种类 深厚的基础

桩基

任何基础类型的目的都是将载荷或力从上层建筑传递到地面,而不会产生过多沉降. 桩基通常用于位于薄弱或饱和土壤深度的项目,其中开挖深度不适用于浅地基. 桩的直径各不相同,但深于宽. 来自上部结构的载荷通过弱可压缩土层从桩传递到较硬的土壤或坚硬的岩石. 它们可以由钢制成, 木材, 现浇, 或预制混凝土. 现浇混凝土桩是通过使用长的旋转钻头在地下挖出一个钻孔并用钢筋和混凝土填充该钻孔制成的. 如果井壁不能支撑自己, steel liners can hold the borehole’s shape. 使用安装在重型机械上的打桩锤将预制桩垂直或以一定角度打入地下. 有时, 使用桩帽将桩顶高处浇铸在一起, 基本上, 孤立的立足点, 创建可以支撑大圆柱的桩组 (见图 7)

使用桩基的优势:

  1. 可以在受控环境中将桩预制成任何所需的规格或设计要求.
  2. 预制桩被运送到现场并可以立即安装, 从而导致更快的工作进度.
  3. 现浇混凝土桩可以支撑摩天大楼等大型和高大的结构, 浅薄的地基不能满足要求的地方.
  4. 打入桩也可用于因地下水位受压不宜钻孔的地方.
  5. 桩基可用于无法使用其他土壤类型的土壤条件.

使用桩基的缺点:

  1. 如果打入地下,混凝土桩需要充分加固以承受应力
  2. 规划和设备对于正确处理和将桩打入地下至关重要
  3. 当桩被打入排水质量低或差的土壤时,土壤或已经打入的桩可能会弹出.
  4. 打桩会产生振动, 影响相邻结构的完整性.

图桩基础, 基础类型, 基础

数字 7: 桩基和桩帽

码头 (套管) 基础

码头或沉箱基础类似于单桩基础,但具有更大的 “桩” 色谱柱直径. 沉箱基础的安装方式也有所不同. 不像桩基, 码头基础是通过挖掘或疏the地下的土壤并用混凝土和钢筋加固的方式建造的. 沉箱也可以钻入基岩或停留在土层上, 但是一个 “钟声” 需要横截面以将负载分散到更宽的区域 (如图 8). 因为有水, 墩基础依靠端部轴承来抵抗上部结构载荷, 与桩基相反, 它通过端轴承和皮肤摩擦传递载荷. 通常, 当在可到达深度处没有坚固地层时安装桩基, and pier foundations are often used when the top layer of soil consists of decomposed rocks or stiff clay.

图形沉箱基础, 基础类型

数字 8: 带桩帽的码头或沉箱基础

本文对您有帮助吗??
是的 没有

我们能帮你什么吗?

回到顶部

SkyCiv Documentation

Your guide to SkyCiv software - tutorials, how-to guides and technical articles

Tutorials

  1. Home
  2. Tutorials
  3. Foundation Design Tutorials
  4. Types of Foundation and their Uses

Types of Foundation and their Uses

Generally, foundation systems are divided into shallow and deep foundations. Shallow foundations are almost always cast against the earth. The site is excavated to relatively shallow depths, underneath the ground elevation. They are easier to construct, cheaper, and, therefore, usually a more popular design option than deep foundations.

Difference between footings and foundations

The terms footings and foundations are common words used in civil engineering, but still, some people do not recognize the distinction between the two terminologies. Foundation is a general term used to denote a part of a structure that transfers the load from the superstructure to the supporting ground. It can be either classified as a shallow or deep foundation. On the other hand, footing is a part of a foundation in contact with the ground. Typically, footings are associated with shallow foundations only. Foundation may include footings, piles, piers, or caissons, while footing is only made up of a reinforced concrete slab. In simple words, all footings are considered foundations, but not all foundations are footings.

Deep foundations vs. shallow foundations

Deep foundations are more commonly found on sites where the soil conditions are unfavorable. For example, most marine projects will use deep foundations because they are much more stable than shallow foundations. This is because deep foundations will travel much deeper into the earth, past the poor soil conditions, usually landing on harder rock-type soil that is more stable.

The main differences between these two foundation systems include cost, depth of the bearing soil, load transfer method, and design capacities. Shallow foundations are used primarily when the load will be transferred into a bearing soil located at a shallow depth (as little as 1 meter or 3 feet). Deep foundations are used when the load is transferred into deep strata (ranging from 20-65 meters or 60-200 feet).

Shallow foundation construction is cheaper as it requires less labor, equipment, and materials. As aforementioned, relatively little excavation and labor are required to dig and form the shallow foundations.

The process for constructing a deep foundation is more complex and costly. It requires heavier equipment, skilled labor, and proper time management. Deep foundations can be driven into the ground or cast against the earth. Soil is much harder to excavate, and soil pressure increases as you go deeper.

Shallow foundations rely primarily on end bearing on the soil. Reinforcement in shallow foundations helps resist overturning and bending of the foundation. A deep foundation provides lateral support, resists uplift, and supports larger loads. It relies on both end bearing and skin friction. Different types of shallow and deep foundations are shown in Figure 1.

foundation-systems-chart, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 1: Types of Foundation Systems

Types of shallow foundations

Isolated Footings

Isolated footings, also known as spread or pad footings, are the simplest and most common type of foundation. They are typically used when the load transfer into the soil from the structure comes from columns. Each footing supports its column that it takes the load from and spreads it to the soil it’s bearing on. Isolated footings are almost always square or rectangular. This makes them easier to analyze and construct. Dimensions of the footing are estimated based on the loads from the column, the safe bearing capacity, and excessive soil settlement.

figure-isolated-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 2: Isolated Footing

Wall Footings

Wall footings, also known as strip footings, support the weight from load-bearing and non-structural walls to transmit and distribute the loads across an area of the soil in which the soil has an adequate load-bearing capacity. Similar to isolated footings, the broader footing area, the more it spreads the gravity force from the wall to reduce the chances of settlement. This is especially useful when supporting load-bearing walls, as they would support not just the dead loads of the structure but also design loads. Wall footings are also cast with plain or reinforced concrete and sometimes are precast before being brought to the site. Economical wall footings can be constructed provided that the imposed loads are minimum and the soil beneath the footing has good soil conditions.
figure-wall-footing, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 3: Wall Footing

Combined Footings

Like isolated footings, the combined footing is constructed when columns carry structural loads. This is used when two or more columns are so close to each other that their isolated footing overlap. Construction of combined footings may be more economical when the footing materials (concrete) are cheaper than the labor to form two separate footings. Combined footing can also be provided when the column is close to the property line, which makes the isolated footing eccentrically loaded when kept entirely into the property line. Combined footing may be rectangular, trapezoidal, or tee-shaped in the plan, depending on the size and location of the columns supported by the footing.

figure-combined-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 4: Combined Footing

Strap Footings

Strap footings, also known as cantilever footings, are two isolated footings connected with a strap beam. Strap footings are used when the distance between the isolated footing is large enough that when a combined footing is used, the width of the footing becomes narrow and causes high bending moments. Specifically, strap beams commonly connect two footings that support columns that carry substantial lateral forces. The strap beam will help reduce the effects of the lateral load in the same direction that it is running and will not put any additional vertical gravity pressure onto the soil.
figure-strap-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 5: Strap Foundation

Mat Foundation

As the name implies, a mat foundation, also known as raft foundation, is a type of foundation spread entirely across the area of the building supporting heavy loads from columns or walls, similar to a slab on grade. It is most often used when basements are constructed where the entire basement floor slab acts as the foundation. Mat foundation is chosen when the building is supported by weak soil. Thus building loads are spread over an extremely large area. This prevents differential settlement that would be prevalent with isolated footings. This is most suitable and economical to use when the building footprint is relatively small or if columns are close together, limiting material cost. Conversely, mat foundations are not desirable to construct when the groundwater is located above the bearing surface of the soil.
figure-mat-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 6: Mat or Raft Foundation

Types of deep foundations

Pile Foundation

The purpose of any foundation type is to transmit loads or forces from the superstructure to the ground without excessive settlement. Pile foundations are commonly used for projects that lie on weak or saturated soil depths where the excavation depth is not feasible for shallow foundations. Piles vary in diameter but are much deeper than they are wide. The load from the superstructure is transferred from the piles through the weakly compressible soil strata down to stiffer soils or hard rock. They can be made from steel, timber, cast-in-place, or precast concrete. Cast-in-place concrete piles are made by hollowing out a borehole in the earth using a long rotary drill and filling that borehole with steel reinforcement and concrete. If the borehole walls cannot support themselves, steel liners can hold the borehole’s shape. Precast piles are driven into the ground vertically or at an angle to the vertical using a pile hammer attached to heavy machinery. Sometimes, piles are cast together at their top elevation using a pile cap, basically, an isolated footing, to create a pile group that can support a large column (See Figure 7)

Advantages of using pile foundations:

  1. Piles can be precast into any required specification or design requirement in a controlled environment.
  2. Precast piles are shipped to the site and immediately able for installation, thus resulting in more rapid work progress.
  3. Cast-in-place concrete piles can support large and tall structures like skyscrapers, where a shallow foundation would not suffice.
  4. Driven piles can also be used in locations where it is not advisable to drill holes due to pressurized groundwater tables.
  5. Pile foundations can be used in locations where soil conditions make other foundation types impossible.

Disadvantages of using pile foundations:

  1. Concrete piles need to be reinforced adequately to sustain the stresses if driven into the ground
  2. Planning and equipment is essential for proper handling and driving of piles into the ground
  3. The heaving of the soil or an already driven pile may pop up when a pile is driven into the soil with low or poor drainage qualities.
  4. The driving of piles generates vibration, affecting the integrity of adjacent structures.

figure-pile-foundation, types of foundation, footing foundation

Figure 7: Pile Foundations  and Pile Cap

Pier (Caisson) Foundation

Pier or Caisson foundations are similar to a single pile foundation but with a larger “pile” column diameter. Caisson foundations are also installed differently. Unlike the pile foundation, pier foundations are constructed by excavating or dredging the soil beneath the ground and filling it with concrete and steel reinforcement. Caissons can also be drilled into the bedrock or rest on soil strata, but a “belled” cross-section is required to spread the load over a wider area (as shown in Figure 8). Because of the presence of water, pier foundations rely on end bearing to resist the superstructure loads, contrary to the pile foundation, which transfers loads through end bearing and skin friction. Typically, pile foundations are installed when there are no firm strata at a reachable depth, and pier foundations are often used when the top layer of soil consists of decomposed rocks or stiff clay. 

figure-caisson-foundation, types of foundation

Figure 8: Pier or Caisson Foundation with Pile Cap

Was this article helpful to you?
Yes No

How can we help?

Go to Top