在此版本的行业见解中, 我们采访了 戈登W. 巴特利特, 结构性, G.W. Bartlett and Associates LLC石油工程师兼首席执行官. 戈登在材料方面拥有广泛的往绩, 所以可以说话 相当 很好的想法 "轻量化技术学" (轻量级) 因为它 涉及 结构构件和设计. 这问&A 将展示他的经验并深入探讨轻量化技术的内容和原因.

戈登巴特利特

G.W.Bartlett and Associates 首席执行官

戈登体现了对教育的奉献: 他拥有化学工程学士学位和博士学位. 石油工程专业,专注于原油生产的结构动力学. 他是一名退休的化学和石油工程教授,拥有超过 40 关于该主题的国际出版物. 专业地, 戈登是前原油生产工程师, 研究顾问, 以及特立尼达和多巴哥政府的首席能源顾问.

他一直专注于为仓库和制造建筑开发 LWT. 这使他能够为加勒比地区的低收入家庭设计和提供经济适用房.

轻量化技术基础

问: 轻量化技术是什么意思?

一个: 我们的意义 "轻量化技术" 是结构工程中的一项技术或分支 利用 任何可以达到与传统钢结构强度相等的结构强度的钢型材或系统 与相应的钢截面 体重减轻超过 50 百分. 必须指出的是,目前, 传统钢系统的每个部分类型 (例如. H,一世,L和T部分) 超过 500% 对于任何给定的特定表面,其重量均比LWT部分的每个部件重,从而可以显着改善现场操作期间的物流处理.

例如,通过组合使用两个C-Purlin部分,每个部分的权重为 3.93 磅/线性英尺, 它是 可能的 构建一个截面系统,其弯曲强度与传统 I 型截面的重量相同 25.4 磅/线性英尺..

问: 业界目前如何使用 LWT?

一个: 对工程材料文献的回顾表明,这些 LW 材料正在建筑行业中用作结构支撑材料, 用于墙壁支撑 (螺柱), 屋面支撑 (after子) 以及在现有结构中传统重型钢截面和/或钢筋混凝土之间的有限使用,用于需要低或零结构完整性的维修.

最常见的, LW 型材仅用作支撑高结构承载力型材的单个构件,并未在结构上组合或制造用于需要比设计时更高的结构完整性的特定建筑活动.

因此需要注意的是, LW 构件没有被用来代替宽翼缘部分或 S 梁,而是更多地作为次要构件支撑和/或分配负载到结构上占主导地位的主要承载构件.

完全使用 LWT 建造山顶树屋. 屋顶梁/柱/角撑板设计如右图所示

对行业现状和未来的思考

问: 你认为这个独特的行业接下来会走向何方 5 年份?

一个: 未来五年,该行业将受到低成本住宅市场的推动, 工商业建筑. 相应地, C-檩条 (用于现场制造 I 型和 H 型截面柱的初级截面, 桩和梁) 现在介于 1.2 厚度为1.5mm, 业界将采取行动,将厚度增加到2.5mm甚至更大. 除了C和Z- 条, lin条制造商将在其生产线中添加更多的几何形状,以改善面积惯性特性.

随着这些改进的进行, 这些构件的结构承载能力应增加, 从而使该行业能够用更低成本的 LW 部分替换更昂贵的传统部分. 整体效果应该会降低建设成本,并导致以前被认为不经济的建设项目在经济上可行.

例如: 一个 我发出光芒 fabricated on-site without welding using 2.5mm thick steel C-purlins will then have second moment of inertia equal to that of a comparable heavy steel section and will have a 重量减轻接近 200%.

这些的作用 努力 有望在未来五年内促进该行业的扩张.

问: 工程师使用什么技术来设计这些 LWT 部分?

一个: 立即地, SkyCiv的研究能力成为焦点, 工程师可以借此操纵单个檩条的几何形状和轴方向,并研究这些变化的结果. 从而, 在从组合设计单个 I 型截面时 2 相似或不同的 C 型檩条, 或由多个 C 型檩条组合而成的桁架部分, 工程师可以研究改变 LW 截面规格和环境条件的影响 (风, 雨, 雪, 地震等) 面积时刻, 承重, 挠度和弯矩.

根据这些分析生成的 SkyCiv 平台报告最终将指导现场制造以定制 LW 部分成员. SkyCiv 平台的这一系列计算的最后一步是优化每个截面构件的重量与结构完整性, 从而通过减少 $/lb 来最大限度地减少施工成本. 建筑过程中使用的钢材.

问: LW 组件是否由任何特殊材料制成? 这些材料容易获得吗?

一个: 好消息是这些 LW 组件不是用任何特殊材料制成的. 不同厚度的标准热浸镀锌低碳钢板 1.2 在大多数情况下,使用冷成型工艺将至 1.5mm 制成 LW 组件 . 这些成型过程已经建立,标准化螺栓和螺钉连接的代码在结构工程文献中有详细记录.

低碳钢目前在所有自己从世界主要钢铁供应商处采购的国家都可以买到 (我们, 巴西, 印度和中国).

正在建设中的两层豪华海滨使用 100% 轻量级; 右侧显示独特的桩/柱/地板梁连接

LWT的优缺点是什么?

问: 除了减重, LWT 创新的一些积极因素是什么?

这项创新的大部分积极因素都笼罩在轻量化技术的主题中. 然而, 一些主要的间接优势包括:

  • 这些建筑材料的运输和搬运物流大大减少,可以由人工代替重型机械搬运.
  • 利用这一创新带来的成本节约增加,导致以前不经济的建设项目重新启动,作为经济上可行的就业创造者,特别是在低技能到非熟练劳动力水平.
  • 一个显着的结果是,劳动力就业的潜力得到了提高,尤其是在低技能和非技能劳动力大量供应的经济萧条中. 这可能会对缓解建筑行业不断增加的失业统计数据产生巨大影响。- COVID 时代,国际货币基金组织在其关于拉丁美洲和加勒比地区的最新报告中表示,世界上这些地区的实际收入和就业将下降,直到 2025, 比任何其他地区都多. 发布 2025, 除非世界领导人积极努力防止这种情况发生,否则就业将略有增加. 因此,通过 LWT 进行的结构工程是一个明显的贡献者.
  • LWT的这项创新已经开始引起家庭和农业DIY项目的增加. 加法, 更换和修理的数量在增加,对轻质结构构件的需求也相应增加.
  • 安全始终是任何建筑工地的主要问题, 误工事故, 随着使用重量更轻的建筑材料的增加,伤害甚至死亡人数将减少. 事实上, OSHA统计数据表明 20% 的所有工人死亡发生在建筑行业,而这个数字 28% 是由: 一世) 被重钢击中或钉在下面 ii) 被重钢挤压或被重钢挤压. LWT 可以在减少这些数字方面发挥作用.

问: 这些轻量部分有什么缺点吗?

  • 第一个限制是目前进行涉及大活荷载和恒荷载的大规模施工的能力. 例如超过 5 层的高层建筑, 工业船舶建造和大跨度桥梁是明显的限制.
  • 目前使用 LWT 的代码要么有限,要么在更广泛的结构工程文献中不可用,因为它的使用尚未很好或完全建立. 随着时间的推移和继续使用,行业将发展出这样的.
  • 由于该技术是由特定项目的定制设计驱动的,因此尚未开发用于其使用的软件包. 自定义几何形状的梁构件的结构完整性分析需要工程第一原则,现在通过每个截面构件的非常繁琐的数学模型来完成,这通常是非标准的. 因此,辅助设计的计算机软件包落后于该技术的使用.

山坡 使用 LWT 的小屋; 左侧山墙屋顶桁架设计

你说LWT对结构工程行业的整体影响是什么?

该技术本质上利用轻质型钢来实现远远超过其设计承载能力的承载能力. 这使得该行业能够将这些部分的使用从其最初为钢筋混凝土和传统部分提供支撑的角色扩展到创建能够以显着降低成本提供独立结构的轻型组合部分. 这对行业产生了重大影响.

通过批判性研究型材单位重量表面积的内在参数, SE 行业可以扩展 Ixx 等设计参数的使用, Iyy 和 Izz 实现 LW 组合截面,其结构能力可以承受更大的载荷,相应地具有更高的结构稳定性.

因此,檩条制造商正在扩展他们的工具,为结构工程市场提供厚度增加和不同几何形状的檩条,以减少定制截面设计所需的现场制造量.

您是否有兴趣在这样的行业洞察力文章中脱颖而出?? 与我们联系主题行 "行业洞察" 并提供一些有关您自己以及您想谈论的内容的信息.

联系我们

In this version of Industry Insights, we interviewed Gordon W. Bartlett, Structural, Petroleum Engineer and CEO of G.W.Bartlett and Associates LLC. Gordon has an extensive track record with materials, so is able to speak quite well on the idea of "Light Weight Technology" (LWT) as it relates to structural members and design. This Q&A will showcase his experience and dive into the what and why of Light Weight Technology.

Gordon Bartlett

CEO of G.W.Bartlett and Associates

Gordon exemplifies dedication to education: he has a B.Sc in Chemical Engineering and Ph.D. in Petroleum Engineering focusing on Structural Dynamics of Crude Oil Production. He is a retired Professor of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering and has over 40 international publications on the subject matter. Professionally, Gordon was a former Crude Oil Production Engineer, a Research Consultant, as well as a Chief Energy Consultant to the Trinidad and Tobago government.

His focus has been on developing LWT for warehouse and manufacturing construction. This has allowed him to design and deliver affordable housing for low income families in the Caribbean.

Light Weight Technology basics

Q: What does Light Weight Technology mean?

A: Our meaning of "Light Weight Technology" is a technology or branch within Structural Engineering that utilizes any steel section or system that can attain equal structural strength to that of traditional steel sections with a corresponding decrease in weight of more than 50 percent. It must be noted that currently, each section type of traditional steel systems (e.g. H,I,L and T sections) is more than 500% heavier than each member of the LWT section for any given specific surface thereby allowing for significantly improved handling logistics during field operations.

For example by using a combination of two C-Purlin sections each having a weight of 3.93 lbs/linear ft, it is possible to construct a section-system having equal bending strength to that of a traditional I-section of weight of 25.4 lbs/linear ft..

Q: How is the industry currently using LWT?

A: A review of engineering materials literature indicates that these LW materials are being used in the construction industry as structural support materials, for wall bracing (studs), roofing supports (rafters) together with limited use between traditional heavy steel sections and/or reinforced concrete in already existing structures for repairs requiring low or zero structural integrity.

Most commonly, LW sections have been used as single members only for support of high structural capacity sections and have not been structurally combined or fabricated for specific construction activities which require higher structural integrity than that for which they were designed.

It is important to note therefore, that LW members have not been used to replace wide flange sections or S beams but more as secondary members supporting and/or distributing loads to the more structurally dominant primary load bearing members.

Mountain top tree house construction using entirely LWT. Roof beam/column/gusset design shown on the right

Thoughts on the current and future state of the industry

Q: Where do you see this unique industry going in the next 5 years?

A: Over the next five years the industry will be driven by the market for lower-cost residential, commercial and industrial construction. Accordingly, where C-purlins (the primary section used for the on-site fabrication of I and H-section columns, piles and beams) now ranges between 1.2 and 1.5mm in thickness, the industry will move to increase the thickness up to possibly 2.5mm and greater. In addition to C and Z- purlins, purlin manufacturers will add more geometric shapes to their line in order to improve area-inertia properties.

As these improvements take place, the structural load bearing capacity of these members should increase, thereby allowing the industry to replace more costly traditional sections with lower cost LW sections. The overall effect should drive down the cost of construction and cause construction projects previously deemed uneconomic to be ventured as an economically viable.

For example: An I-beam fabricated on-site without welding using 2.5mm thick steel C-purlins will then have second moment of inertia equal to that of a comparable heavy steel section and will have a weight savings of close to 200%.

The effect of these endeavors will hopefully give rise to expansion of the industry over the next five years.

Q: What techniques are engineers using to design these LWT sections?

A: Immediately, the research capabilities of SkyCiv come into focus, whereby the engineer can maneuver the geometry and axis orientation of a single purlin with respect to another and investigate the resulting effects of these changes. Thus, in designing a single I-section from the combination of 2 similar or dissimilar C-purlins, or a truss section from the combination of a number of C-purlins, the engineer can study the effects of changing LW section specifications and environmental conditions (wind, rain, snow, earthquake etc.) on moment of area, load bearing, deflection and bending moment.

The SkyCiv platform reports generated from these analyses will eventually direct on-site fabrication for customizing the LW section members. The final step of this series of calculations from the SkyCiv platform is to optimize the weight versus the structural integrity of each section member, thereby minimizing the cost of construction through the reduction in $/lb. of steel utilized in the construction process.

Q: Are the LW components made with any special materials? Are these materials readily available?

A: The good news is that these LW components are not made with any special materials. Standard hot dipped galvanized low carbon steel sheets varying in thickness between 1.2 to 1.5mm are formed into LW components utilizing the cold forming process in most cases . These forming processes are well established and codes for standardized bolt and screw connections are well documented in the structural engineering literature.

Low carbon steel is currently readily available in all countries who themselves purchase from the world's major steel suppliers (US, Brazil, India and China).

Two-story luxury oceanfront under construction using 100% LWT; Unique pile/column/floor beam connections shown on right

What are the pros and cons of LWT?

Q: Other than reduction in weight, what are some of the positives of the LWT innovation?

Most of the positives of this innovation are enveloped in the main theme of Light Weight Technology. However, some major indirect advantages include:

  • Transportation and handling logistics of these construction materials are greatly reduced and can be handled by manual labor instead of heavy machinery.
  • The increased cost savings resulting from utilizing this innovation has resulted in previously uneconomic construction projects being restarted as economically viable employment generators especially at the low to unskilled labor level.
  • A notable spin-off from this is that the potential for employment of labor is enhanced especially in depressed economies where there is a great supply of low to unskilled labor. This can have a formidable impact on easing the increasing unemployment statistics in the construction industry in a post- COVID era where the IMF in its latest report on Latin America and the Caribbean have stated that for these regions of the world real income and employment will decrease until 2025, more than any other region. Post 2025, employment will increase marginally unless there are vigorous efforts by world leaders to prevent this. Structural Engineering by way of LWT is therefore an obvious contributor.
  • This LWT innovation has already started to cause an increase in home and agricultural DIY projects. Additions, replacements and repairs are on the increase with a corresponding increase in demand for the light weight structural members.
  • Where safety is always the major concern on any construction site, accidents involving lost time, injuries and even fatalities will decrease as the use of lighter weight construction materials increase. In fact, OSHA statistics indicate that 20% of all worker deaths are in the construction industry and of that figure 28% is caused by: i) being struck by or pinned beneath heavy steel and ii) being squeezed by or between heavy steel. LWT can play its part in reducing these figures.

Q: Are there any drawbacks to these light weight sections?

  • The first limitation is the current ability to undergo large scale construction involving large live and dead loads. For example high rise structures in excess of 5-stories, industrial vessel construction and long span bridges are obvious limitations.
  • Currently codes for the use of LWT are either limited or unavailable in the wider structural engineering literature as its use has not been well or fully established. With time and continued use the industry will develop such.
  • Software packages for its use have not been yet developed as the technology is driven by custom designs for specific projects. The analysis of the structural integrity of beam members for custom geometries requires engineering first principles which are now accomplished by the very tedious mathematical models for each section member which is usually non-standard. Computer packages to assist in the design are therefore lagging the use of the technology.

Hillside Cottage Utilizing LWT; Gable Roof Truss Design on left

What would you say is the overall impact of LWT on the structural engineering industry?

This technology essentially utilizes light weight steel sections to achieve the load bearing capacity far in excess of that for which they were designed. This has allowed the industry to extend the use of these sections from its original role of providing support to reinforced concrete and traditional sections to creating lightweight combination sections capable of providing stand-alone structures at significantly reduced costs. This has been a major impact on the industry.

By critically investigating the intrinsic parameter of surface area per unit weight of steel sections, the SE Industry can expand the use of design parameters such as Ixx, Iyy and Izz to achieve LW combination sections with the structural capacity to withstand far greater loads with correspondingly greater structural stability.

Purlin manufacturers are therefore expanding their tooling to provide the structural engineering marketplace with purlins of increased thickness and varying geometries to lessen the amount of on-site fabrication required for custom section designs.

Are you interested in being featured in an industry insight article like this? Reach out to us with the subject line "Industry Insight" and give us some information about yourself and what you would like to talk about.

Contact Us